Westcounty Suffolk Sheep Club Flock Competition 2012

By Suffolk Sheep Society 22nd October, 2012


Westcounty Suffolk Sheep Club Flock Competition 2012


Andrew Walton spent three days touring the South West visiting eleven flocks. Many thanks to Andrew for giving up his time. We hope he enjoyed his stay.

This year’s competition was kindly sponsored by Animax and Agricentre.

The results were announced at our flock competition meal held at the Fingle Glen, Tedburn St Mary.

The results are as follows:


Small Flock:

 1st      Ross Lawrence (Roundacre)

2nd     James Heard (Hughslade)

3rd      Ben Collings  (Benbreed)

H.C   Graham Reddaway (Barwick)


Large Flock:

 1st      Rob Holmes (Willmar)

2nd     H.C Derryman & Sons  (Yarcombe)

3rd      Philip Brooks (Lyatts)

H.C   Aimee Mogford (Mogford)


Ewe Lambs:

 1st      Ross Lawrence (Roundacre)

2nd         Rob Holmes (Willmar)

3rd      Philip Brooks (Lyatts)

H.C   Ben Collings  (Benbreed)


Best Ram Lamb:

1st      Reg Pedrick –       Hazeltree Xtasy

2nd    Ross Lawrence – Cairnton Jagger

3rd      Ross Lawrence – Roundacre Romeo

H.C   Aimee Mogford –  Rhaeadr lamb


Best Ram, Shearling or over

 1st      Ben Collings –      Benbreed Tonka

2nd     James Heard –      Slackadale Lah

3rd      Aimee Mogford –  Mogford Man of Power


Best Homebred Ram

1st      Ben Collings –      Benbreed Tonka

2nd     Ross Lawrence – Roundacre lamb

3rd      Aimee Mogford –   Mogford Man of Power

H.C   H.C Derryman & Sons – Yarcombe Leader


Best Group of Stock Rams

1st      Ross Lawrence (Roundacre)

2nd     H.C Derryman & Sons  (Yarcombe)

3rd      Ben Collings  (Benbreed)


Best Group of Ram Lambs (running on as Commercial Shearlings)

 1st      H.C Derryman & Sons  (Yarcombe)

2nd     Mike Smith  (Knightswood)

3rd      Reg Pederick (Denbury)


Champion Ram

 Benbreed Tonka


Reserve Champion Ram

 Hazeltree Xtasy


Reserve Champion Flock

 Rob Holmes  (Willmar)


Champion Flock

 Ross Lawrence (Roundacre)


Showmans Shield

Robert Holmes (Willmar)


Back Row L-R 

 Robbie Pedrick, Ben Collings, Ross Lawrence, Rob Holmes, Philip Derryman


Front Row L-R

 Harry Brooks, Andrew Walton, Aimee Mogford



Rob Dunsford

Fantastic article - really enjoyed reading.

Leave a comment